Continuing Fellowships

Graduate School continuing fellowships are intended to support students who are currently enrolled in a graduate program at The University of Texas at Austin.

For a student to be considered for one of these fellowships, their graduate adviser must submit a nomination to the Graduate School.

Faculty review committees evaluate the applications based on major accomplishments since entering Graduate School, a well-defined program of research, a strong personal statement and letters of recommendation.

Harrington Dissertation Fellowship

The Graduate School awards a small number of Harrington Dissertation Fellowships, which include a stipend of $45,000 for 12 months, tuition and required fees, an allowance for student medical insurance and $2,000 for miscellaneous expenses.

David Bruton Jr. Graduate School Fellowship

The Bruton Graduate School Fellowship pays a $1,000 stipend. Recipients are not eligible for tuition or health insurance assistance.

Other Continuing Fellowships

Other continuing fellowships include a stipend of $35,000 for 12 months, health insurance assistance and tuition assistance that pays the cost of in-state tuition and fees up to nine semester credit hours for the fall and spring semesters and three for summer.

  • Homer Lindsay Bruce Endowed Graduate Fellowship
  • Sidney Chandler Endowed Scholarship
  • William W. and Ruth F. Cooper Graduate Student Support Endowment
  • Cullen Trust Student Endowment Fellowship
  • Delco Graduate Fellowship Fund
  • Marye Anne Fox Fellowship
  • Wendall C. Gordon Endowed Graduate Fellowship
  • Bess Heflin Fellowship –  Awardees selected from one of the following programs:
    • Anthropology
    • Biological Sciences
    • Cell and Molecular Biology
    • Ecology, Evolution and Behavior
    • Economics
    • Geography
    • Government
    • History
    • Microbiology
    • Nutrition
    • Plant Biology or Botany
    • Psychology
    • Sociology
    • Zoology
  • Hemphill-Gillmore Fellowship
  • W. H. Hildebrand Scholarship Fund
  • Hogg Foundation Fellowship – Preferentially awarded to students in:
    • Community and Regional Planning
    • Government
    • Public Affairs
  • Houston Endowment President’s Excellence Scholarship – The Dean of the Graduate School specifies the field(s) in which awards are offered each year.
  • D. Hutchison Student Endowment Fellowship
  • William S. Livingston Graduate Fellowship
  • Miller Graduate Fellowship
  • Moody Graduate Fellowship
  • Ralph Nelson Graduate Fellowship
  • W. Gordon Whaley Fellowship
  • Wilson Regents Graduate Fellowship in Academic Administration – Preferentially awarded to outstanding students concentrating on Higher Education Administration.


All nominations for Graduate School fellowships must be entered into the online Graduate School Awards System, accessible in EASI.

The graduate coordinator can initiate the nomination process with the student’s UT EID. The students are then notified to supply their information, upload their CV and personal statement, and supply the names and email addresses of three persons they want notified to submit letters of reference on their behalf. The graduate adviser or graduate coordinator may be asked to upload a letter of nomination and answer a few short questions. Nominations can be submitted by the graduate adviser before all the reference letters are in.

Tutorial for Students

A tutorial has been prepared for students who will be accessing the online awards system.

Tutorial for Program Nominators

This tutorial provides instructions for how to nominate a student for a University Continuing Fellowship.